Posted by: Lisa Guyer | March 7, 2013

While I’m Waiting


But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31

This is such a well-known verse to many Christians today. We use it in order to encourage each other during hard times. It’s used as a reminder that God is going to see us through when we are hurting and going through trials. I have often gone back to this verse, myself, in order to hold on to that promise that He will lift me up and renew my strength.

However, a year or two ago, a friend of mine challenged my view of this verse. She suggested that the word “wait” wasn’t waiting like we think of it. She gave the example of a waitress. Waitresses usually don’t watch you come into the restaurant and wait for you to finish your meal, then after the meal is over expect a tip for just watching you eat. Instead, waitresses are rewarded for actively waiting ON you while you are eating. They take your order, bring you your food, refill your drinks, and bring you more napkins. They are consistently hovering, wanting to know if there’s anything else they can bring you. They are doers. They are servants.

I believe that this is exactly how God expects us to be as well. When he answers our prayers with a “wait”, he doesn’t expect us to just sit back until something big happens. He wants us to continue to serve, love and wait ON Him and those around us.

Many of you who may be reading this, may be waiting on your marriage to get better. You may be waiting on God to change your spouse’s heart. You may be waiting on God to change your own heart. In any circumstance, you are waiting. If you are anything like me, the waiting is driving you crazy. It’s so hard to surrender all control of a situation to Him, and then not have anything to do to help the situation. It’s at this point that I take the greatest consolation in verses like Isaiah 40:31. Not so much in the promise of God’s help, but rather in the call for me to go and DO something while I’m waiting.

So what is God calling you to DO while you are waiting right now? Who does he want you to serve? What does he want you to accomplish?

I have a series of practical suggestions that I hope to post over the coming days and weeks. I hope they will promote and encourage an active waiting inside of you. So, stay tuned. I’ll be back with more.

If you have suggestions, share them here. We all have a lot to learn about waiting on the Lord and I would love to hear your thoughts.


Responses

  1. Thanks for your comments. I believe, if we’re honest with ourselves, most of us are only waiting and not doing. And while we wait for something to happen or for someone to do something for us, we are missing out on the good that we ourselves could be doing. I look forward to your follow up posts!

    • Well said, Ben! We miss the glory of God in the waiting because we’re so consumed with our own desires. “Doing” His will is the will of God.

  2. […] wrote the other day about what it means to “wait” on God. Today, I want to offer the first of several practical ideas that I have on what you can be doing […]

  3. […] hang of being still, you can then move on to another practical suggestion that I have for you to do while you are waiting. This is one where you are able to be a lot more vocal about things! I would suggest that you find […]

  4. […] in an unhappy or discouraging marriage, almost any time of waiting is difficult. It’s hard to wait on the Lord and allow him to work. For some, learning to be still is a huge mountain to overcome. For others, […]

  5. […] what does all of this have to do with waiting, from our perspective? For me, I see two major points here. First, I see that Hosea has to have had […]


Leave a comment

Categories