Posted by: Derek Guyer | February 4, 2013

Sufferings’ Wonderful Results


Jesus Praying in the Garden by Gustav Dore

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” 

-Romans 8:18 NASB

How do you handle the suffering in your life?

I have met a lot of average people who would say their trials and sufferings have made them stronger, but outwardly I don’t see stronger people. I see people who have become more jaded by all of it. They seem angry and selfish. They have closed the door to real relationships, because people can not be trusted.

“We all know people who have been made much meaner and more irritable and more intolerable to live with by suffering: it is not right to say that all suffering perfects. It only perfects one type of person…the one who accepts the call of God in Christ Jesus.”

-Oswald Chambers

I recently came face to face with a struggle that has haunted me for years. It was a deep struggle stemming from years of wounds in a relationship that has admittedly had both a callousing and a perfecting effect on my own heart. My flesh has been weak in response to the suffering I am experiencing, but the Spirit has consistently pricked my heart. I have been reminded to allow my life to be molded as He delights. I will admit that I’m hurting and fighting the need to let go, but I am trying to release myself into His will. The suffering is deep and personal, but I believe Christ’s love moves deeper than those wounds in my heart. I believe it brings freedom.

What about you? Have you allowed the trials in your own life to open you further to God’s perfect will or have you become calloused to Father’s desires after years of suffering? Do you live through your trials and sufferings as part of the journey that will one day keep you in His presence eternally? What’s being revealed in you?

“Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

James 1:2-4 NASB


Leave a Reply

Categories

