Posted by: Derek Guyer | July 9, 2012

Raising up Godly Sons


As I’m preparing for the father and son retreat in August, my awareness of the need for godly men grows steadily. I’m seeing a desperate need for men who will train their boys to be men of God. We desperately need more men who live by faith, in the light of Christ, as they overcome the problems of life.

As I sat this morning talking with my older two boys from the scriptures and praying with them, tears welled up in my eyes as I considered the challenges that they would face in the coming years. I know those challenges well, and I have suffered through them time and time again. I have been very blessed to have a father and brothers who protected me as much as they could. They stood beside me even when I was making foolish decisions and helped to bear the burdens of the messes I made. I didn’t really understand it at the time, but I was lovingly being protected. I want that and more for my own sons.

So, this morning, I encouraged my boys to see their talents, strength, mind, and heart,  in a different light. I believe Father wants them to see all of that as gifts from Him for His own glory and for the purpose of serving the people He’s placed around them. I encouraged the boys to see that “every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights” (James 1:17). They weren’t given those things to glorify themselves and boast. Each of those things is a tool for God’s glory and should be used as such.

Part of the rise of our home is keeping the proper perspective of my gifts, my strength, and my abilities so as to ensure they are used to show my love for God and my love for his people. As well, I must ensure that I pass that perspective on to my children so that they can share it with the world and, one day, their own families.

What are you doing to ensure that your family is using the blessings you have received to the glory of God and the building up of His people? How can you do that better?

If you’re a father who wants practical direction for training up your son, consider bringing him to the August retreat, Cut From the Rock. I am excited to come together with other fathers who are striving to raise up godly sons and know it will be a great weekend of encouragement and challenges for all of us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

