Posted by: Derek Guyer | June 29, 2012

God is still God


Many times in the past, I have found that my idea of who God was ended up being different from who God really is. I have gone to scripture in hopes of knowing God, but only come back with some simple pictures of what He has done or said. I still did not know Him.

I have found that just because I think something is true, does not really make it true. Even my ideas about God are not always true, even if I think the scriptures say what I think they say. All too often, God is taken out of context and the reality of who He really is becomes stripped of its beauty as we impose on Father our own desires. Most every person I’ve every known who call themselves Christians, really struggle with trying to make God what they want Him to be, rather than accepting who He actually is. I’m very guilty of this as well.

One of the unfortunate consequences of doing this is that it makes our daily challenges a lot more challenging. We all come to God wearing rose-tinted glasses as we carry a bucket full of unfair expectations of God. As a result, it’s hard to accept that His will looks blurry in those ugly glasses and that our expectations of God are as good as the bucket we’re carrying them in. We can’t get our minds wrapped around the will of God, because we’re too busy believing we know the will of God.

“Remember this, and be assured;
Recall it to mind, you transgressors.
“Remember the former things long past,
For I am God, and there is no other;
I am God, and there is no one like Me,

Declaring the end from the beginning,
And from ancient times things which have not been done,
Saying, ‘My purpose will be established,
And I will accomplish all My good pleasure’”

Isaiah 46:8-10 NASV

If you’ve grown frustrated with the direction of your life, and the challenges that seem to get in the way of your vision, maybe it’s time to step back and redirect your thoughts and efforts. Maybe your vision for your life is less important than you think it is. Maybe you should give your own vision a rest and allow God’s purpose for your marriage, your home, your children, and your own dreams to be established and to overcome your own vision.

“Be still and know that I am God”

Psalm 46:10

Even when you don’t understand, God is still God. Even when it feels hopeless, He is still your only hope. Even when the realities of life seem impossible, God is much bigger than your reality. At the end of the day when all of your dreams, marriage, and everything else has fallen apart, whose fault will it have been? Maybe you’ve moved without God. Maybe you don’t know what you thought you knew. Maybe you need to take off your ugly glasses and stick them in the bucket with the rest of the trash you’re carrying around. Set the bucket down and be still for a second. Is God still God? If so, then maybe you should let Him be your God.


Responses

  1. In Exodus 34:6-7 when Moses was hidden in the cleft of the rock in order to see HIS glory, GOD described Himself for us. This passage has given me a clearer picture of not only who HE is, but also the qualities that HE wants me to imitate to bring glory to HIM.

  2. Sometimes, I feel guilty when people ask me to pray for something or someone and it isn’t an hour long prayer filled with all the things I think should happen or they think should happen. So many times the only thing I feel that I can ask is simply, ‘Father, Thy will be done, give them peace with Your will’. This is a reminder that maybe that is all we need to be asking for when petitioning Father. Maybe not always, but this is what came to me from your article. Thanks for taking the time to write this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

