Posted by: Derek Guyer | March 6, 2012

The Merton Prayer


Photograph of Merton by John LyonsOn Sunday, a brother in the body here offered some encouraging words to the church that have been very thought provoking to me over the last couple of days. In his thoughts, he shared the following piece, called the Merton Prayer:

MY LORD GOD, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road, though I may know nothing about it. Therefore I will trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

-Thomas Merton, “Thoughts in Solitude”

(Thoughts in Solitude, Part Two, Chapter II commonly called the “the Merton Prayer.”)

At this time in your life, you may feel alone, but Father never leaves us alone, as Merton prayed. He’s there. He wants your desires. He wants your decisions. He wants you to trust Him. He wants you and He’s leading you. Are you following?

My brother here left us with these questions and verses (some that I’ve added) and I’ll leave you with them now:

  • How are you handling the uncertainties of life? (II Corinthians 12:7-10, Romans 5:1-5; 8:35-39 and I Corinthians 2:1-5)
  • What has the cross taught you about submission to Father? (Matthew 26:36-46 and Philippians 2:1-18)
  • How do Merton’s thoughts on God’s “leading” square with scripture? (Philippians 2:12-13, Romans 6:12-13, Ephesians 2:8-10 and Titus 2:11-14)
  • Do we truly comprehend the extent of God’s love for us? (Romans 8:31-39 and Ephesians 3:14-21)
Responses

  1. man this really speaks to me right now brother. i find that i can cling to that desire to please so much easier than a list of rules. there is so much freedom and life to be had in Christ. i pray that i can be content in living that

  2. Thanks for sharing. What a wonderful prayer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

