Posted by: Derek Guyer | February 27, 2012

My Father’s Love


The majority of the time we spend counseling, we are being reminded of the love of our Father. If we’re talking with a husband or a wife who has sinned and deeply hurt their spouse, we’re reminding them that Father’s love is wider than the hole their sin has created. On the other side, we’re also reminding those husbands and wives who have been offended and whose trust has been broken, that they once received the same mercy and grace they desperately need to now extend. It’s clear the love of Father has no end and I can’t say how thankful I am for that constant reminder.

As a fairly deliberate sinner with a pitiful record of backtracking and spitting in the face of Jesus, I need that sweet love of Father as I come over the crest of the horizon in fear that He’ll be angry, and even worse in my mind, deeply disappointed with me. But, no matter what I’ve done, I find the smile of my Father.

I personally know that smile and that tenderness so well from many sides. I have felt the disapproval of my own earthly father and the much needed release of the mercy I was extended. I’ve also watched the discouragement in my children’s eyes after they’ve disappointed me. It doesn’t take long before I’m swooping them up, holding them close, and talking them through how much I love them. I’m kissing them, crying with them, and praying that God will help us all to be more like Jesus. I’m being Father God for my children.

I’ve needed to receive a lot of hard discipline as a son. I know there are times where that is seriously necessary for all of us as sons and daughters. But, because he treated me like a son and given me mercy and grace, I’ve always come back. He calls me His son. And that draws me back.

Be careful not to extend a judgement and bitterness that you have never received from Father. He has never rubbed your sin in your face. He’s covered it with His own Son’s blood. He’s offered a way out and a way home. So, extend the same love you once received. Let the blood of Jesus pierce into the darkness of your anger and bitterness and forgive as you’ve been forgiven.

“For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.” 

Romans 8:14-17 NIV

Leave a Reply

Categories

