Posted by: Derek Guyer | December 19, 2011

Another Chapter


It was almost ten years ago to the day that I pulled into town here in Indiana to marry my beautiful wife. I had been going to school and working in Florida for the previous three years and met Lisa through an amusing sequence of events, which I’ll have to explain another time. I didn’t really want to be in Indiana, but after some serious prayer with Lisa and very clear direction from Father, I packed a truck and made the thousand mile drive up to marry my bride to-be.

I spent the first several years of my time here in Indiana trying to figure out why God had brought me here, all while many times wishing I were somewhere else. We considered moving repeatedly and sought opportunities to make a change over the years, but Father repeatedly nudged me back into His perfect plans. It has taken a tremendous amount of heartache and pain, but I would say the LORD has done a pretty good job of  breaking my will and drawing me back into His own will.

As I laid in bed this morning sleepless, despite being exhausted, I repeatedly found myself  thinking about the last few years and how much God has changed me. I don’t personally want to leave Indiana any more. In serving Father and His people, I’ve found a joy and peace I never imagined possible here in the Hoosier state. What once seemed impossible to me is something I have been blessed to enjoy in incredible abundance.

I have found I can have peace no matter where I am, as long as the Spirit, my Helper, is there by my side. I have learned that I can have peace, and maybe even unity, among almost any people, even if they treat me as an enemy, as long as I have a heart to serve instead of desiring to be served. I have learned that God’s people never look a certain way, but that they do act a certain way. I have learned that enjoying the simplicity of the community of Christ’s people can happen in big buildings, the grocery store, a living room, driving on the road, and even out in the wild. The enjoyment of His presence among His people never has to be restricted by a day or time. I have found that faith in God is not found in my words as much as it is found in my actions. I have also been blessed to find that the abundant life never happens in the abundance of things or even in being perfect, but in the abundance of Him. He is good enough.

These truths are truths that came to me not in moments where everything was working as I desired, but mostly where it was going in the opposite direction of my desires. They are truths etched into my heart after many heartaches and pains. For this, I thank my Father, from whom every good and perfect gift comes.

As I finish up packing and jump into the truck this morning heading with my family to Kentucky, I leave behind a chapter of my life that has been challenging, yet still beautiful! I leave behind people whom I love dearly and whose hearts and lives have brought me closer to my dear Father. I am not simply driving to Kentucky today, I’m watching the closing of a season in my life and the starting of a new one. The Author and Perfecter of my faith has penned a new chapter in the story of my life, and it’s to that end I go. LORD, I come. Lead on.

Responses

  1. Blessings to you all as you have been a blessing to so many here in Indiana. We will miss you dearly…love you all very much.

    • And to you, Cindy. Your family is still a blessing to ours in so many ways. Praise God for our fellowship in Christ! I look forward to hearing all about the adventures ahead in Kenya. Blessings to you all!

  2. Derek, it was such a blessing to get to know you more intimately during your stay out here in Ca. To see how God has radically worked in your life as well as mine in such a short amount of time is quite amazing to me. You and your family have been such an inspiration to me in my own walk with Christ.

    To see you puposefully lead your family in this exciting new chapter of life, step by step in the Spirit of God, is truly humbling to watch.

    {A simple man believes anything, but a prudent man gives thought to his steps.} (Prov. 14:15)

    Can’t wait to see how Father uses you in the future, as you and Lisa serve in obedience, Him who gave us life.

    Love you guys!

    “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments. I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you. (John 14:15-17)

    • Thank you so much for all of your support and encouragement, brother. It was great to be with you, your family, and the body of Christ out in your area. Praise Father for the warmth of everyone’s fellowship and the opportunity to serve/teach even as I was being served.

      It’s beautiful to see your faith growing so tremendously. You are a blessing to me as I walk with Christ, brother. Much love to all of you!

  3. You and your family have been a blessing to me and my family. I am glad that Father caused our paths to cross.
    May God bless you all in this new chapter.
    LaRon

    • Thank you, brother! The feelings are deeply mutual. Praise Father! May He bless you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

