Posted by: Lisa Guyer | October 26, 2011

My Identity


At the last women’s retreat, we talked about how we label ourselves and how we identify ourselves according to our past sins, failures, or weaknesses.  We each took time to think about how we perceive or label ourselves and how those labels then dictate how we respond and react in our everyday lives. It was definitely a telling exercise for all of us.  After going through the weekend, though, we came to the conclusion that, as daughters of the Most High God, we have a totally different label or identity in Him.  All of our past sins and failures are gone.  We are made completely new in Him. Praise God!

Since the retreat, I have come across the song “Identity” by John Waller.  It fits perfectly into this concept of having a totally different identity once we are in Him. As soon as we die to ourselves, Christ is free to live in us.  God dwells in us! Once this happens, we have found our new identity.

“…I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.”    

Galatians 2:20 NIV

We are now dead, and Christ is living instead of us!  We, therefore, adopt all of the identities of Christ and who He is.  He is love, so we become love. All of our unloving nature dies when we die.  He is joy, so we become joy.  Nothing unjoyful remains in us.  He is mercy, so we are mercy.  He is power, so we are powerful.  Worry, fear, weakness, and a lack of mercy cannot live in us anymore. Our identities have now taken on His identities.

Because we have taken on His identity we cannot be any less than what He is.  As soon as we become unmerciful, unloving, or weak, we are not who we are supposed to be anymore.  We have stepped outside of His identity.  This may seem like an overwhelming task to take on, as if we now have to be perfect.  However, I believe that God is looking at it like He is giving us HIS power (instead of our own) in the moment to accomplish what He puts before us.

“For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God. Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think,according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.” 

Eph 3:14-21 NASB

So when we say, “I just can’t do this anymore!”…He says, “I am power, so you are powerful.  You can do anything I can do.  You can do this, because I can do this.”  When we say, “I just can’t forgive him anymore!”  Christ says, “I am mercy, so you are mercy.  You can forgive, because I can forgive.  I am now in you, and you have my strength.”  Wow.  Now that makes all the difference!!  My strength is completely revived when I know that I am not the one fighting these battles daily.  He is!  His strength, power, mercy, and love are all coursing through me!  Praise God for such a gift!

Leave a Reply

Categories

