Posted by: Derek Guyer | August 11, 2010

Power When I’m Weak


I’ve been working with several different couples over the last few days who have been sorting through an incredible mess from affairs. Each spouse is carrying tremendous burdens and pain around, and it’s hard to watch. I’ve found myself on my knees more recently than I think ever before. I hear their tears. I see their despair, and I find myself feeling their pain. I ache for it all to be over. It’s easy in these moments to lose sight of the truth and it’s why I have to remain walking “in the Spirit”. If not, it could be easy to offer advice based out of my own fleshly desires.

Thinking back on our struggles, I remember being so foolish in dealing with the pain. I remember my deep anger and frustration. I remember sinning in my anger repeatedly. I look with great appreciation on the way God saved my home with and, but most especially, without me. There were many times He used me to help Lisa see truth, but more often than not, He was working despite me. He saved Lisa.

That’s easy to see now, but in the moment I constantly felt like I had to do the saving. I kept believing I needed to say or do something and, more often than not, I was in the way. I can’t help but believe that our situation would have gotten better much faster if I had spent more time on my knees crying out to the only one who saves. I needed a savior instead of trying to be one.

I was playing God. I was trying to do what I could not do. I wanted change, and I thought I could bring it if I spoke more often or did something myself. This only brought more pain, burdens, and despair. The harder I tried, the worse it got.

What I didn’t realize then was that there is only one who saves. There is only one hope. There is only one LORD and one Spirit. There is one faith, and it all happens through one thing- my death (the one baptism Paul mentions). When I’m dead to myself, Christ has the freedom to live within me. He has the freedom to use, and not use, me. It’s this truth that makes Paul’s words to the church at Galatia so beautiful to me:

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Galatians 2:20 NIV

The way Lisa was saved was through “The Way”. It wasn’t me doing the saving. I was just an instrument he used in the operating room as he opened up Lisa’s chest and give her the new heart he promised.

I was tired and weary because I was fighting from my own strength. When I stopped fighting and cried out to Jesus, He overcame.

“My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

II Corinthians 12:9-10 NLT

If you are tired and weary from fighting for your marriage, you are fighting in your strength. If you are exhausted from living with someone who doesn’t love you, you are living without the One who gives real love. His love is greater and more fulfilling than anything your spouse could ever give you. Jesus promises to never leave or abandon you, to never lay it on you too hard, and to take the burdens off you.

So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

Galatians 6:9 NLT

I encourage you to get on your knees. Ask the Savior to save you. Ask Him to give you what you need when you need it. He will answer.

LORD God, Savior and Friend, I beg you to reach out and touch each person as they read this. Show them they aren’t alone. Let them feel your beautiful presence and show them how to lay their burdens on you. Show them they can trust you. You alone are faithful. You are our only hope. Bring hope to the hopeless and faith to the faithless. You are the only thing we can truly trust, and we’re so thankful for you. I love you with all of my heart and thank you for saving me and my home!

Responses

  1. That’s good stuff!


Leave a Reply

Categories

