Posted by: Lisa Guyer | June 25, 2010

How Big is Your God?


“My God is so BIG!

So strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do.

My God is so BIG!

So strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do.

The mountains are His.  The valleys are His.  The stars are His handiwork, too.

My God is so BIG!

So strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do….for YOU!”

My kids love to sing this song over and over again.  Honestly, I kinda get sick of hearing the tune of it, but deep down the words still ring very true to my heart.  It actually came into my mind as I was talking to a wife recently.  This situation was no different than many of the marriages we hear about on a daily basis.  A wife or a husband is hurting and struggling to let go of the pain and frustration that has found its way into their lives.  They feel hopeless and resigned to the idea that, if they were to stay in their marriage, they will forever be doomed to a life of unhappiness and loneliness.  Their spouse has proven to be unloving, disrespectful, unforgiving, uncompromising, etc, etc for years now.  There is no hint of change in their spouse’s heart, and if there has been any change, it hasn’t been much.  So, they are ready to take matters into their own hands or to just give up completely.

This is the point where the song came into my head.  “My God is so big, so strong and so mighty.  There’s nothing my God cannot do.”  The song says that there’s nothing my God cannot do.  Yet, it’s not only the song that says it.  It’s in scripture, too.  My God can part a sea into two walls leaving dry ground to walk on. (Exodus 14).  My God can cause walls that are way over 20 feet tall and six feet thick to just fall down without being touched (Joshua 6).  My God can keep a man alive in the belly of a fish for 3 days in order to humble him (Jonah1-2).  My God can bring the dead to life (Matthew 9:18-26).  My God can make the blind see and the dumb speak (Matthew 9:27-33).  My God can walk on water (Matthew 14:22-33).  My God is so big, so strong and so mighty.  There’s NOTHING my God cannot do.

Do you believe that?  Do you believe in the same God that did all of those things?  Do you believe that no matter how long your spouse has acted a certain way and treated you a certain way, God can change their heart in an instant?  Do you believe that your marriage could be in shambles right now and seem hopeless, but that God can make you deliriously happy in that same marriage?  Do you believe that God can take away the desire that your spouse has for another person?  Is your God big enough to do that?  Is he capable?

I’ll tell you what MY God has already done for me.  My God gave me a husband who loved me when I was so much more than just unlovable…I was pure evil.  My God granted me mercy by not taking my life when I was deeply entrenched in my own sin and selfishness.  My God changed my heart from being one of stone to one of moldable clay.  My God gave me a new desire for my husband whom I had come to loathe being around.  My God took my filthy sins of adultery, pride, selfishness, anger, and lust and washed them whiter than snow.   My God took those same sins and cast them as far as the east is from the west (Psalms 103:11-12).  My God took a home that was broken, hopeless, and miserable and rebuilt it into one that is solid, redeemed, and full of joy.  Is my God the same God that you serve?  How big is YOUR God?  When your problems and pain seem to loom endlessly in front of you, know that THE God of all heaven and earth is bigger and more powerful than all of it.  He has the power to change your spouse.  He has the power to heal your hurts.  He has the power to save your home.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!

Ephesians 3:20-21


Responses

  1. Wow, did I need to hear that. Thank you so much for the encouragement, Lisa!

  2. I have been talking to some people about this post already and I wanted to add something…please remember that the changes that God placed in my heart did not happen overnight. They took time, patience, and perseverance on Derek and I’s part. Please do not be discouraged if you don’t see big changes in your situation just yet. Just rest in the fact that your God IS big enough to work and that He is working. Recognize the small steps that he’s taking and cherish those small changes. One day you will wake up and realize that all of those small changes have rolled into one huge changed person and you will be forever blessed because of your patience.

  3. ahh….patience really is a virtue. Thanks!

    http://www.spirithome.com/patience.html

  4. I’m a missionary in an orphanage in Guatemala, and my kids like to sing this song in Spanish too.

    Mi Dios es muy GRANDE! Mas fuerte y poderoso. Esto es NADA mi Dios no puede!


Leave a Reply

Categories

