Posted by: Lisa Guyer | September 24, 2009

Put Them Into Practice


“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

Matthew 7:24-27 NIV

Pretty familiar story, huh?  Well, I thought so too as I started looking at this.  I actually just brushed over it in my reading because I have read it so many times and know the gist of the story.  However, I went back through it slowly when my eye caught the words at the very beginning before the actual story begins.  “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and PUTS THEM INTO PRACTICE…”

Now that’s a higher calling than I think some of us are used to.  Of course, we know we what we are supposed to be doing as wives – submitting to and respecting our husbands (Eph 6 and 1 Pet. 3).  But how many of us actually put that into practice?  I think that more often than not, we “hear” those words of Christ, but don’t take the necessary steps to put them into practice.

So, I would really like to begin challenging the wives to begin a journey with me.  This will be a lot like the weekly challenges that Derek was doing before.  However, I am going to be focusing on verses that specifically pertain to wives.

We have all been through times where we get restless in our marriages.  We don’t seem to be content and are unhappy with the way things are going.  We try to pinpoint the problem…something that our husbands are doing wrong, the kids, financial issues, etc etc.  However, in reality, I believe that when we get this restless feeling, we ourselves are actually overlooking or avoiding some truth that God has already revealed to us and are then in direct disobedience to Him.  I’m hoping that by reminding ourselves of some of these verses that we have “heard” many times, we can begin revealing those areas in our lives where we aren’t putting them into practice and, in turn, begin repenting of those sins.

I want us to become women whose foundations are built on the rock – the truth.  Women who when the rains come and the winds blow, our homes will stand and not crash around us, because we have not only heard what we should do but are putting it all into practice.


Responses

  1. Ok.. I woke up with this verse in my head this morning and when I saw your recent post I went “oh no” God is definately talking to me today!

    Count me in!

  2. *like this a lot*

  3. I think it is easy as a wife sometimes to resent your husband a little bit. What about my needs? Everyone always expects things of me, when is someone going to ask me what I need?Trust me as a stay at home mom of soon to be 4, it’s hard to see things in focus sometimes. Maybe that is is just Satan’s way of trying to weaken your home?It does sound selfish when you think about it…me,me,me. But God wants us to be in the role of the one who takes care of the home, our husbands and our family. I have a magazine which my Grandma had signed me and my sister up for, it must have been years ago, she has been passed since 2001 and I just got it last year I believe. It is called Above Rubies. There are a few things in it I want to share, which pertains to this. It talks about “serving love”. It says in Galatians 5:13″By love serve one another”. “The word serve is doueuo which means to serve like a slave. We don’t serve because we are slaves, we serve b/c we love.Many times we can feel overwhelmed by the tasks we face as a mother. There is so much work to do. Every sweet little child adds more work. Your husband expects you to do this and that. Change your thinking. Don’t think of yourself as a servant. Think love. Love loves to serve. Love serves with delight.”(Above Rubies,Feb2008,p16.)I personally am looking forward to this. I think it will help me be a better wife and encourage me to be the wife that God wants me to be.

  4. I’m in!


Leave a Reply

Categories

