Posted by: Derek Guyer | July 7, 2009

Go Rebuild Godly Homes


Today, I woke up with a renewed vision of the work God has given me for Rise of the Home along with a fresh will to persevere. Why? Because God has sent us humbly on a new part of our journey with Rise of the Home.

I’ve been working a part-time job in the early mornings for benefits and some extra income for my family since October of 2007 . It has been an incredible blessing to have that job and the benefits that go along with it for our family. But, the countless hours of work between Rise of the Home and my job at night has left me sleepless and less focused than ever. As well, we’ve experienced an incredible influx of couples in need of help and in search of God’s perfect plan for their homes. As a result, my body has been shutting down further and further and my ability to maintain the necessary focus and perseverance for the families we serve, along with my own home, has dropped significantly in recent months. 

We’ve put this to prayer and asked for God to show us what to do time and time again since I first started working the job.  After hearing repeated “no’s” over the last year and nine months, I finally received a new answer. I was sitting that Thursday evening, two weeks ago, praying about God’s will for my work and what I should do to stay the course of building godly homes to His glory while maintaining and building my own. That evening, God lead me to Nehemiah chapter two:

“In the month of Nisan in the twentieth year of King Artaxerxes, when wine was brought for him, I took the wine and gave it to the king. I had not been sad in his presence before; so the king asked me, “Why does your face look so sad when you are not ill? This can be nothing but sadness of heart.” 

I was very much afraid, but I said to the king, “May the king live forever! Why should my face not look sad when the city where my fathers are buried lies in ruins, and its gates have been destroyed by fire?” 

The king said to me, “What is it you want?” Then I prayed to the God of heaven, and I answered the king, “If it pleases the king and if your servant has found favor in his sight, let him send me to the city in Judah where my fathers are buried so that I can rebuild it.” 

Then the king, with the queen sitting beside him, asked me, “How long will your journey take, and when will you get back?”

It pleased the king to send me; so I set a time. I also said to him, “If it pleases the king, may I have letters to the governors of Trans-Euphrates, so that they will provide me safe-conduct until I arrive in Judah? And may I have a letter to Asaph, keeper of the king’s forest, so he will give me timber to make beams for the gates of the citadel by the temple and for the city wall and for the residence I will occupy?”

And because the gracious hand of my God was upon me, the king granted my requests.”

Nehemiah 2:1-8 NIV

His answer leapt off the pages at me. “Derek, I want to use you to rebuild godly homes. Follow me. I’m giving you permission to leave your job at night to begin pursuing Rise of the Home with your full devotion.” I was being asked to help rebuild homes to the glory of God on high.

I was honored and, frankly, a little terrified. Five years ago, Satan took over our home and dragged us into the depths of hell, and today, we have been enlisted into an intense and extremely personal battle. I wasn’t scared of God or trusting in His will necessarily, but more concerned about what others close to our family might think of His answer and my decision to trust in it. So, God set out to give me sign after sign about His will and to give me peace in it.

I asked for confirmation that he would take care of my family and He answered in abundance. We’ve received more giving in the last two weeks than we’ve received in the last two months and from a myriad of places, both new and old. All of this has happened without telling those who were contributing financially about the decisions that God was leading us toward. Our work is consistently increasing and, right along with it, so is the battle for so many of the homes to whom we’ve been ministering.

So, I ask for your prayers for the hearts and souls we’re serving who are in such horrific conditions. I ask for your prayers for humble hearts in the people God has given us to lead and challenge. I ask for your prayers for our own resolve and focus as we serve them. I ask for your prayers for the ability to see God’s will and to trust in it.  In the midst of our requests for prayers, we want to offer praise to our God for answering our prayers of being able to continue this ministry with greater devotion than ever.

“But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD”

Joshua 24:15 NIV

Responses

  1. You’ll find this interesting:

    Ten Tests for Doing Spiritual Inventory

    http://thinkpoint.wordpress.com/2008/12/31/10-tests-for-doing-spiritual-inventory/


Leave a Reply

Categories

