Posted by: Derek Guyer | June 10, 2009

Let Them Be Broken


I was sitting this afternoon praying for a woman who has left her husband and four kids to chase after an adulterous relationship. She has wrecklessly abandoned her family and, as I always do, I prayed for her to be broken. I prayed for her to suffer in her sin and asked that she be broken of her foolishness, vanity, and pride. I prayed for her to see the harm she’s doing and has done to her children, her husband, but most importantly to her relationship with God. 

This has become a regular prayer for me when I hear about someone running down an extramarital relationship and destroying their family in the meantime. I watch their lies, their betrayal, and their self-centeredness, and I simply pray they are broken of it. I ask God to reveal all of it before the damage goes any further.

Last night, I was reading through Hosea and chapter 2, specifically, leapt off the pages at me. The very thing I had been praying for was what God said in response to the children of Israel and their adultery before him:

She said, ‘I will go after my lovers, 
       who give me my food and my water, 
       my wool and my linen, my oil and my drink.’

Therefore I will block her path with thornbushes; 
       I will wall her in so that she cannot find her way.

She will chase after her lovers but not catch them; 
       she will look for them but not find them. 
       Then she will say, 
       ‘I will go back to my husband as at first, 
       for then I was better off than now.’

She has not acknowledged that I was the one 
       who gave her the grain, the new wine and oil, 
       who lavished on her the silver and gold— 
       which they used for Baal.

“Therefore I will take away my grain when it ripens, 
       and my new wine when it is ready. 
       I will take back my wool and my linen, 
       intended to cover her nakedness.

 So now I will expose her lewdness 
       before the eyes of her lovers; 
       no one will take her out of my hands.

 I will stop all her celebrations: 
       her yearly festivals, her New Moons, 
       her Sabbath days—all her appointed feasts.

 I will ruin her vines and her fig trees, 
       which she said were her pay from her lovers; 
       I will make them a thicket, 
       and wild animals will devour them.

 I will punish her for the days 
       she burned incense to the Baals; 
       she decked herself with rings and jewelry, 
       and went after her lovers,

 but me she forgot,” 
       declares the LORD.

 “Therefore I am now going to allure her; 
       I will lead her into the desert 
       and speak tenderly to her.”

Hosea 2:5-14 NIV

If you know of someone in your life who has abandoned God, their spouse, and their home in order to fulfill their own lusts and desires, then pray for them to be exposed and broken. Pray for them to be humbled and for the false reality of their infidelity and lies to be exposed. It’s a harsh reality and a horrible situation to watch, but the grace, mercy, and love of Christ Jesus awaits them.

Pray for them to be broken. There is hope, but it lies in wait for those who humble themselves before God.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven”

Matthew 5:3 NIV

Responses

  1. […] to his post: http://riseofthehome.com/2009/06/10/let-them-be-broken/ « Going […]

  2. There is a book that all women should read based off the book of Hosea….

    “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers

    Fits this post perfectly!

  3. i am so blessed to have friends who will lift my other friends up in prayer! i am thankful for all you have done for my own marriage! thank you for helping us fight, and now i pray that i can help someone else fight for their marriage! i love you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

