Posted by: Derek Guyer | May 26, 2009

Taming the Tongue


“All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.”

James 3:7-8 NIV

I’ve been spending a lot of time recently studying communication from a biblical perspective. I’m doing this because of a series of teachings I’m putting together for godly marital communication. The whole study has been extremely challenging as I’m constantly feeling the weight of guilt for my own poor communication issues and blatant misuse of the tongue God’s given me.

I’m not finished with the study, but really want to encourage all of our regular readers to take the time to study it for themselves. I’ve found an incredible peace from the lessons I’ve learned so far. I’m speaking less and am really growing as a result of the words within scripture about the tongue.  The changes are helping in so many ways.

I’m not at all saying that I’ve perfected the tongue, but am thankful to see God changing my heart and giving me the wisdom to simply shut up. It’s been a long process, but a very needed one as well. I encourage you to dig into scripture about the tongue. Read, meditate, and change. Trust me when I say, it will change your marriage.

If you need a starting point, here are some great places to get started:

  • James 3:1-12
  • Matthew 12:33-37
  • Proverbs 12:13-16
  • Psalm 5:8-9
  • …and most of the Proverbs

Also, here are links to all of our Talk With Your Spouse Tips:


Leave a Reply

Categories

