Posted by: Lisa Guyer | April 23, 2009

You Can Never Go Too Far…


Recently, I have been struggling with arrogance, complacency, and a few other attitude issues.  It came to a breaking point one evening.  As I was crying in the shower, I desperately prayed that God would open my eyes to my sin and prick my heart into wanting to be pure again.  As I felt the water washing over me, I felt God telling me that my answer was in the water.  I felt like I had received an answer…a weird one, but an answer nonetheless! 

I started in the back of my Bible in my topic index.  I went to the very first passage listed under “water”.  In the index it said, “Simple Cleansing – Washing Body”.  I almost passed this one up thinking that I wasn’t looking for the everyday cleansing like taking a shower (even though that’s exactly where God had spoken to me – in the shower!).  I finally decided to read this seemingly meaningless passage.  It was Ruth 3:3.   After reading the footnote to that verse, I was led to Ezekiel 16.  I read the heading in my Bible and my stomach turned.  I knew this was from God.  The heading read “Jerusalem as an Adulterous Wife”.

I began reading about Jerusalem and how she was unfaithful to God.  The entire chapter portrays Jerusalem as an unfaithful wife to her husband (God).  It talks about how loving and nurturing the husband is, yet how arrogant and prideful the wife is.  She takes all of the gifts that her husband gives her and uses them against him to get what she wants with other lovers.  She turns to prostitution and idolatry.  Her husband gave her everything she could have ever wanted.

” ‘I bathed you with water and washed the blood from you and put ointments on you. I clothed you with an embroidered dress and put leather sandals on you. I dressed you in fine linen and covered you with costly garments. I adorned you with jewelry: I put bracelets on your arms and a necklace around your neck, and I put a ring on your nose, earrings on your ears and a beautiful crown on your head.  So you were adorned with gold and silver; your clothes were of fine linen and costly fabric and embroidered cloth. Your food was fine flour, honey and olive oil. You became very beautiful and rose to be a queen. And your fame spread among the nations on account of your beauty, because the splendor I had given you made your beauty perfect, declares the Sovereign LORD.”

Yet, she takes those gifts and uses them against him.

” ‘But you trusted in your beauty and used your fame to become a prostitute. You lavished your favors on anyone who passed by and your beauty became his. You took some of your garments to make gaudy high places, where you carried on your prostitution. Such things should not happen, nor should they ever occur. You also took the fine jewelry I gave you, the jewelry made of my gold and silver, and you made for yourself male idols and engaged in prostitution with them. And you took your embroidered clothes to put on them, and you offered my oil and incense before them. Also the food I provided for you-the fine flour, olive oil and honey I gave you to eat-you offered as fragrant incense before them.

Reading all of this broke my heart.  It hurt me to be reminded of how terribly I had treated Derek during that time of my life.  It hurt me to remember my selfishness and how I did exactly what Jerusalem did in this parallel. Every time Derek blessed me with something, I threw it in his face by using it against him.  I had been this horrid woman that Ezekiel was describing.

Not only that, though, I was more hurt by the fact that I was again being the adulterous wife in this parallel.  Only this time it wasn’t against my husband, Derek.  It was against my God.  I had taken all of the gifts that He had given me – my knowledge of Scripture, my giving heart, my physical possessions, my family, and so much more – and I was using them to make myself feel like I was in control of everything and that I had gotten myself where I was.  I was living for and loving myself.  How foolish of me!!  In reality, I was that baby that was described in the beginning of the chapter. I was helpless without Him.

“On the day you were born your cord was not cut, nor were you washed with water to make you clean, nor were you rubbed with salt or wrapped in cloths. No one looked on you with pity or had compassion enough to do any of these things for you. Rather, you were thrown out into the open field, for on the day you were born you were despised.”

Praise the Lord for the end of this chapter!  God has been so furious with Jerusalem’s (and MY) actions, yet he still says, “I will remember the covenant I made with you in the days of your youth, and I will establish an everlasting covenant with you…..Then, when I make atonement for you for all you have done, you will remember and be ashamed and never again open your mouth because of your humiliation, declares the Sovereign LORD.’ ”

Praise be to God that I’m forgiven.  No matter if you are the woman who is physically cheating on her husband like I was about 5 years ago, or if you are the woman who was like me just recently who was cheating on her God, you can be forgiven as well.  You are the baby kicking about in his own blood.  Yet God scoops you up, cleans you up, and makes you whole again. 

Return to your God and to your husband.   You’re never too far away to come back.


Responses

  1. I pray my wife will be able to come to this point, by God piercing her heart. I love her, and God loves her. She needs to realize who really cares for her, and return that love, instead of being stubborn and hard-hearted.

    We are apart for two weeks. I pray that during this time he reminds her of what a good husband she has, and how important her Family is. Most of all, I hope he causes her to repent fully and come back to him.

    Thanks for your writing- it is once again a wonderful thing to behold.

  2. Your words are full of life….thank you for posting your most private thoughts and prayers. It is a daily struggle to not think more of myself than I am…to not take “some” credit for the goodness in my life, for healing in my marriage….I love you Lisa more than you know. I thank God for you and yours every time I think of you.

    “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing. I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me. Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

