Posted by: Derek Guyer | March 5, 2009

ROTH Challenge #16


I apologize for not posting this week’s challenge on time. Lisa and I took the kids out of town for the last few days to visit some family & friends and are just now getting back in town. I tried to write a challenge before we left and everything fell apart every time I tried. 

So, I tried to write it while we were out of town and every time we began, it fell apart again. It seemed like everything I did to sit down and write this post, was being stopped. So, I stopped. I waited until we got back in town and that’s why you’re just now getting it.

I could have spent the last week stressing about not having it done. I could have worried about it the whole time we were away. But, that would have been a waste of my time. I couldn’t change what was happening, and that was obvious. I gave up trying to do something I couldn’t do. That was a nice change at a time when I really needed it.

How much time do the majority of us spend worrying about things we can’t change or fix right now? Bills. Taxes. Relationships. Jobs. Children. Schedule. Housework. Weight loss. And on and on… 

Good thing is Jesus offers a solution to all of it:

“Don’t worry about tomorrow.”

Matthew 6:34 NIV

Don’t worry about the things you can’t fix or deal with today. Tomorrow will have enough problems to face and spending our time on them now will only set us further behind today. Satan wants to use the things that would normally stress you out to take your eyes off of your responsibilities in your marriage and your home.

So, this week, take one day, one hour, one minute,  and one task at a time. Don’t concern yourself with the next of anything until you accomplish the things God has placed directly in front of you. Tomorrow has enough worry to consume your thoughts and stop everything God wants you to do today for your marriage, home, and life in general. So, live for Christ now. Because living is Christ and dying will just be gain (Phil. 1:21) .

“As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

Joshua 24:15 NIV

Leave a Reply

Categories

