Posted by: Derek Guyer | February 17, 2009

ROTH Challenge #14


Do you believe in God? Does anyone around you know you believe in Him? If so, how do they know? If not, why not? What do you believe?

James, when addressing the struggle of faith verses works, in a generation of people who were doing very little about their faith, cut straight to the root of the problem:

“Someone will say You have faith. I have deeds. Show me your faith without deeds and I will show you my faith by what I do. You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that- and shudder.”

James 2:19-20 NIV

The people of that day and age wanted to talk about having faith, but rarely did they want to do anything about it. This problem is running rampant today. We talk about faith quite a bit, but how many of us are proving through our actions that we believe?

“As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.”

James 2:26 NIV

If you believe, what does your life say about your belief? I’m not talking about going to church, because we all know a lot of people who go to church and do nothing about their faith. I’m talking about living out your faith. You’re belief in something bigger than you. You can reason that God is God by looking at all of the things around you. But, can you move past the reasoning and begin to “walk by faith, not by sight”?

If you’re talking about faith and still doing nothing about it, I guarantee it’s affecting your home. The gap between your faith and your action is likely creating the gaps in your marriage and in your familial relationships.

It’s time for all of us to join with Joshua when he said, “As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” (Joshua 24:15)


Responses

  1. i tried to post on #15 but there isn’t a place. 😦 maybe it’s just me. so in regards to #15, it is evident to me…..everyday, how i can do nothing on my own….if left to my own devices i have proven that i will wreck my life, my marriage and even others’ lives….i live for my self, not for God. How powerful the word is when i read it and let it live in me! It is alive and therefore, it changes me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

