Posted by: Derek Guyer | February 3, 2009

ROTH Challenge #12


Another week has passed and I continue to be challenged by the word of God more and more every day. I realize how easily I slip into my old way of living and how much I really need the better way Jesus offers in the word.

I pray all of these challenges will continue to change me as a man of God and you as well. Our purpose in writing these, for those who are new to the Rise of the Home site or for those who have forgotten, is to learn to simply obey the commands given in scripture. We, as the people of God, spend so much time reading and studying scripture, but too little time obeying it. We believe this is a major part of the problems we’re having in the home today. Therefore, we pray these challenges continue to truly be a challenge to you and your homes.

As soon as I read this week’s verses, I felt convicted. Why? Because I not only see it in myself, but see it in so many lives around me, both Christian and those outside of Christ. Check it out:

“Rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the LORD is good.”

I Peter 2:1-3 NIV

I can’t say I associate easily with all of those sins listed in the first verse, but most definitely can feel the personal struggle to be hypocritical, envious, and slanderous. I’m sure all of us, from time to time, struggle to keep ourselves pure from any and all of these sins. Why? Because we all have people around us who are hurtful, have more or better things than we do, and even who frustrate every bone in our bodies. We are tempted to want more than what we need or to look down on others who act in ways we know are wrong. 

Peter encourages all of us to reconsider our approach to our own personal salvation. Like newborn children, we should all crave the spiritual milk in the word, knowing that we have already “tasted that the LORD is good.”

Learn to put off your old self this week as you crave the milk in the word. Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. Seek Jesus and the milk he provides, and grow in your salvation.

Responses

  1. I really struggle with looking down on others who I know are doing wrong.
    Just last night I was watching the news and there was a typical self serving politition bent on screwing up the country in my opinion, and I actually felt hatred and contempt for this person.
    I bet satan was really cheering me on right then.

    Who am I to think that I am better than this individual?

    “I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” -Rom. 7:18

    I pray that the Spirit leads me in this department.

  2. ==Who am I to think that I am better than this individual?==

    Does not God, through christ, separate the goats from the sheep? Are not he sheep better than the goats? At least, are they not better off?

    Did God, through Christ, make you Righteous, or not? Did He not tell the Righeous in Christ Righteously to judge Righteous judgment — that is, according to His Word? And, according to John 15:3, didn’t He cleanse you with His Words? If He did, then the mote, in Righeousness, is gone. The beam has disappeared, or, at least, He has made it possible to look around that beam of unrighteousness.

    We have to decide what Jesus has done for us and not be so guilt-ridden for receving Him and His gift. The Devil wants you to feel guilty about receiving Righeousness, and it is this guilt, this condemnation, that hinders the Blessing.

    Quit marching around the mountains of guilt and condemnation and get to the Truth and stay there!

  3. ==I’m sure all of us, from time to time, struggle to keep ourselves pure from any and all of these sins. ==

    Let’s remind ourselves that we cannot keep ourselves pure from any and all of thise sins. To feel condemned/guilty if we can’t is to deny the Power of God, through Christ. Through Him, our hearts are changed, and we wanna stop sinning, and, for the most part, we do, simply cuz we wanna, not cuz it’s against the Law, or something. However, as you know, we can’t be perfect; but He doesn’t expect us to be perfect in our own righteousness. He expects His Righteousness in us to be perfect, and He is.

  4. ==Who am I to think that I am better than this individual?

    “I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” -Rom. 7:18==

    Yes, in the sin nature — that is, unrighteousness — nothing good lives.

    However, if you’ve receive Christ, Something good lives in you, in your Godly nature, no?

    Those who have not received Christ have no Godly nature, and, so, all that lives in them is stuff that ain’t good in unrighteousness, the sin nature.

    So, if you walk with Him, in your Godly nature — Amos 3:3 — you are more worthy than others who don’t, and, on Judgment Day, when you stand before Him and He asks, “What makes you worthy to be with Me?” you answer, “You, Christ!” He, in your Godly nature, makes you worthy cuz-a the gift of Righteousness He gave you through faith in God, through Christ.

  5. I think you are missing the point Mr. Incredible.

    I know that Christ is in me and in no way do I feel guilt ridden for that. I rejoice daily for being set free.
    I do feel guilty though, for sinning against my God.
    When I feel hatred or malice toward someone else, THAT IS SIN.
    God commands us to love our enemies. That is very hard for me personally.
    We as Christians must of course judge between good and evil and avoid associating with those who defiantly and unrepentantly do wrong, but we are warned not to judge in a way that is petty or hypocritical. After all, God is the Judge, and we are each, as responsible individuals, ultimately being judged, not doing the judging. When the time comes, the question that we will each be faced with will not be, “What did he do?” or “What did she do?” but rather, “What did you do?”

  6. ==God commands us to love our enemies.==

    What is “love,” biblically, not worldly?

    == That is very hard for me personally.==

    When people rely on worldly standards of “love,” it is difficult.

    ==…God is the Judge, and we are each, as responsible individuals, ultimately being judged, not doing the judging.==

    Except that He told the Righteous — that is, those who are born again — to “judge Righteous judgment.”

    ==When the time comes, the question that we will each be faced with will not be, “What did he do?” or “What did she do?” but rather, “What did you do?”==

    Not true cuz perfomance gets us nowhere. The question to us will be, “What makes you worthy to be with Me”? The answer: Jesus Christ.”

  7. Wow, looks like you’ve got it all figured out Mr. Incredible. Your name says it all. God bless.

  8. ==Wow, looks like you’ve got it all figured out Mr. Incredible. Your name says it all. God bless.==

    Those who are born again were called to get it all. THAT’s part of the Inheritance.

    Anyway, why don’t you answer my question:

    What is “love,” biblically, not worldly?

  9. That question is important cuz, when I hear others talk about “love,” in the context of the Word of God, I notice that they never define it.

    As they continue talking, it becomes clear that they apply a forever-changing worldly standard to “love.” Jesus didn’t apply a worldly standard.

  10. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
    1Cor. 4:4-7

    “True love” is the God of the universe paying my debt for me by dying a horrible death on the cross.
    That is “agape” love.
    A love that I, with the guidance of the Holy Spirit, am still working on.
    How about you?

  11. OOPS, I mean,

    1Cor. 13:4-7

  12. ==Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
    1Cor. 4:4-7==

    You wrote what “love” does, but you don’t define it.

    ==“True love” is the God of the universe paying my debt for me by dying a horrible death on the cross.
    That is “agape” love.==

    Still no definition, only what it does.

    ==A love that I, with the guidance of the Holy Spirit, am still working on.
    How about you?==

    I’m not working on it. I receive it already. I recognize that, as far as receiving His love, there’s nothing to work on, that there’s only receiving it.

  13. I’ll tell you what; I’ll give you the definition of biblical “love,” to what, taking it in the context of the Word of God, it amounts:

    Unselfish concern for the Salvation of others, as much unselfish concern for others’ Salvation as you have for your own.

    THEN, 1 Corinthians 13.

    Bibllical “compasion” is almost the same:

    Unselfish concern for the fate of those who will die without Christ [reference Matthew 9:36, for one].


Leave a Reply

Categories

