Posted by: Derek Guyer | January 13, 2009

ROTH Challenge #9


I apologize for not having the challenge out on Monday, as we normally do. I tried to post it to the site last night, and the server was down. I went back to find my work, and it was gone. So, here’s this week’s challenge…a little late.

I read an article out of the UK last week about dealing with stress. According to the article by the “Daily Mail Reporter” on Mail Online, “The end of the holidays, cold weather and economic gloom will make today (last Monday) one of the most stressful days of the year for returning to work.” The suggestion offered to handle that stress? Just shout. Supposedly it will take an incredible amount of pressure off and make you feel so much better…

Great idea, huh? That’s just what the world needs is more adults throwing temper tantrums and acting like children. Don’t learn how to deal with your stress and frustration legitimately. Just explode.

Once again, man’s ideas are completely counter-intuitive to God’s. As His word explains in Isaiah , “His ways are higher than our ways”. So, what does His word say about dealing with situations and things that frustrate or irritate us?

“Consider it pure joy, brothers, when you encounter various trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces endurance. Perseverance must finish its work, so that you may be perfect and complete, not lacking anything.”

James 1:2-3 NIV

Consider it what? James must be kidding, right? Joy?

Trials go hand in hand with testing, and particularly, the testing of our faith. As James says, this testing produces endurance. Endurance, when it’s finished its work and purpose, allows us to be perfect and complete, not lacking anything.

So, when facing trials as children of God, we don’t shout and scream. We don’t act like little children. We consider it as pure joy to be learning how to persevere, so that we can become perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. Consider it all joy, you’re being perfected for God’s own glory.


Responses

  1. When I was in the darkest time of suffering just a few months ago about the knowledge of my wife’s affair, my flesh wanted to lash out and blame God for what was happening to me.
    I couldn’t believe that He was putting me through such pain and misery.

    What the Holy spirit helped me to realize was this was all happening for my own good. He was using the pain to transform me into what He wanted me to be, not what I thought I needed to be.

    I did thank God at that time for the pain,(as hard as it was), and He has blessed me for my faithfulness. My marriage is now stronger than ever, and He is in me stronger than ever!

    I am still very much a work in progress, but I now know that with God’s divine power I will be able to endure the hard times that may come.

    ALL FOR HIS GLORY!


Leave a Reply

Categories

