Posted by: Derek Guyer | November 24, 2008

ROTH Challenge #2


This week’s challenge will seem extremely likely, especially given our national holiday, but I think it will be challenging for many, nontheless:

“…give thanks in all circumstances…”

I Thessalonians 5:18

When was the last time you thanked God for everything in your life? I’m not talking about giving thanks for the things that felt like blessings. Seriously, when was the last time you thanked God for the trials you were facing? What about the long lines at the grocery store? What about the time that guy cut you off as he passed you? Have you thanked God in any of those types of circumstances?

In the midst of a collapsing economy, where your neighbors, family, and friends are losing their jobs, their houses, and even some of their families, what do you have to be thankful for?

When you’re standing in line at the grocery store, remember there are some who can’t afford to buy groceries for their families. When the guy cuts you off on the way home from work, be thankful you have a job and that you didn’t get hurt when he did cut you off.

Be thankful, and tell God you’re thankful. Let Him be praised in all circumstances as you become thankful for every good gift from your God. This week, not just Thursday, learn to be thankful and express that thankfulness to God.

Responses

  1. Just read a blog that speaks to this topic a bit. It’s a good reminder to be thankful for the people in our lives, and take time to enjoy them–because “we can’t have the hours back.” (http://www.conversiondiary.com/2008/11/guest-post-we-cant-have-hours-back-so.html)

    Sometimes the kids get on our last nerve or we get tired of the constant work (we clean up, they make a mess…) Likewise, it’s easy to see the “little things” about our spouse that we’d like to change. BUT, how important to be thankful for the blessing of our family!

  2. eww. i am not excited about this at all. rather, i feel a dread and i am not sure sure why, exactly. but…perhaps my attitude will be different after i start this challenge.

  3. This challenge was an easy one for me although I must say it wasn’t always easy. I learned a long time ago that worrying about something wasn’t going to change it so what I needed to do was to apply the first challenge, ‘pray without ceasing’, and accept what was happening knowing that there would be something God wanted me to learn from it. Does that mean I didn’t try to make a situation better? No! It just meant that as with anything we do our best and leave the rest to the Lord. If we begin any situation with prayer that God’s will be done we need to then be willing to accept it when His will IS done. My husband and I have recently had a great deal of life changing experiences and been put into circumstances that I never would have thought would come out way but we started out knowing that we had to completely trust that God would be with us and without fail He was there. We have taken every rock that was in our path and used it as a stepping stone and have felt so blessed by the prayers that have been answered for us. We are so thankful for the trials we have gone through because I truly believe it has prepared us for what ever may come our way in the future. This is one of the greatest lessons you can teach your children.

  4. That should be come ‘our’ way not out. ^

  5. This one is hard too!!! I have had to think on this -However, it’s not so hard when you take your feelings out of the mix. I always seem to wait until I feel thankful to give thanks. Can I give thanks and praises if I don’t feel it- and still actually be thankful?

    At first when read the challange I didn’t agree with the practice of thinking what I have that others don’t – to me it felt like it was doing the same thing as seeing what other people DO have that I don’t… but when you take the emotion out of the thoughts and look at the black and white – where COULD I be at this point – and when you see others who don’t have what you have then you do SEE the blessings and then you do FEEL blessed…

    But it is a choice that we have to make. To wake up in the morning and know that we are blessed – simply because we have Jesus and the peace he brings… not because we feel it – but because we KNOW it.

    Incorporating that into daily life – all day long – while I want to yell at the kids (or whatever else is going on) is going to take time – but I’m excited – first thing is to wake up and KNOW that I am blessed and have every reason to be thankful and sing praises…

    Cari

  6. I was reminded last night of my difficulty with this challenge. The one difficulty I have is being so far away from my grandchildren and not being able to see them. That does give me a challenge to just accept that one. I just keep telling myself that it will all happen in His time. We have a goal set to be down there this time next year so that is what I use with prayer to cope with that.

  7. I too had some difficulty with this challenge. For us, the holidays involve travel since we moved away from our family. I always DREAD the drive and the dynamics of family visits…especially with the in-laws. However, I looked at this trip as a way to give praise and thanks that we have family to visit, that we have a reliable vehicle to travel in, that my husband has a job to provide for our needs, gas, food, shelter, etc, that we are healthy enough to travel. And mostly that we have a Heavenly Father who provides everything we need no matter what our circumstances are. We have so much to be thankful for even when our human minds don’t realize it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

