Posted by: Derek Guyer | May 2, 2008

Bananas and The Way


Growing up in a preacher’s home, I had always been taught to know and live the truth in God’s word. Now, just because I was raised to do it, didn’t mean I actually did it. I was just raised to do it.

Isn’t that part of the problem with all of us? No matter how well we’ve been taught, many of us simply never have done anything about it. We hear things from Jesus like, “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for my yoke is easy and my burden is light”. But, do we ever really take his yoke upon us? He’s offered an easier and better way. We’ve heard. He can sympathize with our weaknesses. We’ve heard that as well. But, somewhere in the process, our knowledge disconnects from our actions.

It’s like a banana. Many have heard the easiest way to open a banana is from the “wrong end”. Yeah, I mean the end we don’t use. We tear, smash, bite and obliterate a banana not even realizing there’s a more simple way to get it done. All you have to do is simply pinch the other end and it will open far easier than you’d imagine. The problem is that even though some of us know this, we likely still do it the wrong way. (This was learned from watching monkeys…Funny thing is we call ourselves “intelligent life”.)

Paul, in his letter to  the church at Ephesus, said:

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.”

“Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.”

We know it has been said: Love your wife and respect your husband. We’ve heard it preached. We’ve read it ourselves. When will we start opening the banana from the easier end? 

Do you, your spouse, and your children a favor. Chose the easier way. Start peeling the banana the way He created you to peel it. Start loving your wife the way you were created to love her. Start respecting and submitting to your husband the way you were created to do so.

Having come from broken to whole, I can testify that it’s the easier way. Give it a shot. Start opening the banana from the other end. It is the better way.

Responses

  1. I know it says, “husbands, love your wife as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her” and “wives, submit to your husbands….”

    My struggle isn’t so much with being obedient to that, but knowing what I’m supposed to do so I can be obedient like that. I assume I know what that means and what it looks like to love my wife, but looking at it from the outside in, its plain to see that I can’t even recognize the banana most days. I insist that the orange in my hand is the banana.

    I’ve found that without time in the Word, prayer, quiet time, I don’t have a chance, because our society sells us the orange with the banana label telling us that it’s the real deal. A man looks like “Everybody Loves Raymond” and so forth. Society isn’t going to tell me what a man looks like. I have to let God show me.

    If I insist that I know, then I can’t be shown, and refusal to stop to allow myself to be taught is much the same as rebelling against the truth. It’s saying, “I don’t need you God.”

    So then, the beginning of being a man and the rest of the family being who they were designed to be stems from the man’s willingness to submit himself to the Father, who will show him what it means to love his wife, in the context within which he lives.

    I need God. I need God to show me the difference between a banana and and orange, because for me it’s not just peeling a banana from the right end, it’s knowing what to peel in the first place.

  2. Great thoughts, Steve. It’s incredible to me how easily we have allowed Satan to interrupt our connection with God. I think we look like “Everybody Loves Raymond” because that’s what we’re watching. We are what we consume.

    We know what the word says, as you said, to “love your wife like Christ loved the church” and for the wife to “submit to your husband, as unto the Lord. We know what it says, but it seems to me we’re filtering it through our “Everybody Loves Raymond” lenses.

    We haven’t begun to deny ourselves just yet and therefore, we’re still not living the life he designed us to live. We’re still living life as the “old man”, not “walking in newness of life”.

    You’re right. We’re trying to peel the orange, not the banana. It’s time for the people of God to deny themselves as they take up their crosses to follow him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

